Foiled by writer’s block (again)

I absolutely for the life of me cannot figure out how to end Shattered Glass. It’s coming along very slowly, but I’m stuck on the ending and little nuances and details, and I can’t figure out how to move forward. I’m actually open to suggestions at this point if anyone wants to collaborate and co-write the ending with me. I just don’t know how to move forward, but I don’t want to give up and just leave it ended at Part 9. Part 10 was meant to be an epilogue of some sorts, showing the journey of how Page and Caroline got together and had Poppy, and how and why she eventually had to travel back in time. The thing I’m stuck on is the character of Allen Reynolds. I can’t really figure out why he’s such a bad guy, or why he’s after Poppy. Why did she have to go back in time to escape from him? I don’t know. At least not yet. Some of my ideas were that he’s part of an illegal underground trafficking ring that kidnaps kids, or Poppy is like some really special sort of kid that’s important to the company Reynolds works for for some reason (an evil company), or maybe Allen Reynolds is just a predator. I really don’t know, and it sucks because I don’t want to just give up and abandon it. I’ve done that with too many of my stories and projects, and I want to put that habit behind me. I started this and posted it, so I have to finish it. Not that anyone’s heavily invested (I’m pretty sure I’m just talking to myself on this blog) but I want to finish it for myself so I can have that sense of accomplishment.

Anyway, for now I’m just gonna put it aside. I’m not abandoning it, but I’m shelving it until I can figure out how to end it. And this gives me room to post more prompts and other little short stories. Fuck writer’s block though.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

