Music recommendations that nobody asked for

This is a ~totally random~ post but I was jamming today and decided I wanted to share my music with more people so here ya go! Here’s a fun alphabetical list that nobody asked for of my favorite music artists/albums. (This list is all over the place genre-wise. I go from pop to folk to indie to punk to jazz. Enjoy.)

Ariana Grande. I’m gonna stand up for pop here because Ariana is just wonderful and we can all admit that without shame. She makes bops. Let’s be real. Dangerous Woman is her best album IMHO, but she’s got some singles off her other albums that I will jam to any time.

Balance and Composure. A harder alternative band, but still one of my all time favorites. Their best album is The Things We Think We’re Missing.

Banks. My girl. I’m kind of in love with her.

Beach House. My favorite band in the entire world, over anyone else. Literally go listen to their entire discography. Do yourself a favor and let Beach House into your life. Seriously. (Bloom is my favorite album but literally everything they put out is musical excellence.)

Billie Holiday. My favorite jazz queen! She makes me feel so warm and nice. More people should listen to classical jazz.

Bon Iver. Everybody loves Bon Iver. Come on.

Childish Gambino. I don’t listen to a lot of rap, but Donald Glover has my heart.

Daughter. Daydream central. I love all of their music and Elena Tonra’s voice so I can’t pick a favorite album or EP.

Death Cab for Cutie. Death Cab’s acoustics are fantastic. They’re nice to listen to in the background and “I Will Follow You Into The Dark” will always be a classic.

Echosmith. They’re sweet. I keep waiting for a new album from them.

Fifth Harmony. My girls honestly. I want to dance to every song I hear by them.

Florence + The Machine. Florence Welch is my WIFE. Enough said. (Ceremonials is probably my favorite album.)

Halsey. I’m not super super into Halsey, but I do have a soft spot for Badlands. Guilty pleasure.

Jaymes Young. I daydream a lot when I listen to him. The Dark Star and Habits Of My Heart EP’s are great.

Ke$ha. Forever one of my favorite pop artists and I admit that without shame. She makes dancey music, and I like to dance.

Keaton Henson. Oh, Keaton. His music makes my heart sad but I love it. Birthdays is his best album.

The Kooks. “Seaside” is my favorite song by them. They haven’t put out anything new in a long time, but I love all their stuff.

Lana Del Rey. Lana was my entire life in high school and I think I’m always gonna love her. Born To Die and Honeymoon are her best albums, Ultraviolence is a close third.

Lord Huron. Strange Trails is my favorite album. Really good indie band, road trip vibes kinda stuff.

Marina & The Diamonds. Marina, Marina, Marina, my queen-a. She’s beautiful and I would kill for her voice. Froot and Electra Heart are my favorites.

Nicki Minaj. I don’t actually have too much to say about Nicki, just that I love her.

Of Monsters and Men. Love love love love. Beneath the Skin is my favorite album. I could listen to it on repeat forever.

The Oh Hellos. One of my all time favorite, favorite, favorite bands. They’re more folk-inspired, and their sound is gorgeous. Through the Deep, Dark Valley is the best album.

Panic! At The Disco. A classic. Too Weird To Live, Too Rare To Die is my favorite album, then Death of A Bachelor. 

Paramore. The staple band of my formative middle school years, so they’re always gonna mean something to me. I like their older stuff more than the newer music they’ve been putting out. Riot! is still the best album.

PVRIS. They’re like . . . heavy pop/pop alternative? I’m never good at describing bands, but I love these guys.

Rihanna. She’s like Nicki. I don’t have a lot to say about her, just that I love her.

RY X. Take me away to Dreamland. RY X’s music is practically built to be the soundtrack to an indie movie.

Sleeping At Last. They make soft, sad, emotional music. The good stuff.

Sleigh Bells. Heavier rock, but they’re badass.

Troye Sivan. I love Troye. Blue Neighborhood is the best.

The Weeknd. He’s good to listen to when you’re hanging out.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs. They’re at the top of my list (not alphabetically, of course) but if we’re talking all time favorites, they hold one of the top spots. It’s Blitz! is their best album.

Youth Lagoon. More really good dreamy music.

ZAYN. I was never a huge One Direction fan, but I’m not gonna lie, I love Zayn as a solo artist.

And here’s a list of my current favorite songs from my Spotify. I listen to a lot of independent artists and I get a lot of individual songs on there that I fall in love with.

“Clovers.” by JoJo (Too Little Too Late, anyone? We need to give JoJo more love.)
“Cruel World” by Phantogram. This is one of my favorite songs of all time.
“Rivers and Roads” by The Head and the Heart.
“North” by Sleeping At Last.
“The Night We Met” by Lord Huron.
“The Power of Now” by Steve Aoki.
“Electric Love” by BORNS.
“Her” by Excision.
“The Bad Boys” by flora cash.
“Killing Time” by The Hour.
“Moon River” by Audrey Hepburn (or Melissa Benoist from The Flash/Supergirl musical crossover, which was the best thing to ever grace television and I firmly stand by that opinion.)

Other favorite songs I could listen to all the time for the rest of my life:
“Where Is My Mind” by Pixies.
“What’s Up” by 4 Non Blondes.
“Can’t Help Falling In Love” by Ingrid Michaelson.
“Hallelujah” by Jeff Buckley.
“Young Blood” by The Naked and Famous.
“Kiss Me Thru the Phone” by Soulja Boy. (Don’t laugh at me. It’s a great song.)
“Red Eyes” by The War on Drugs.
“Somewhere Only We Know” Originally by Keane, but I kinda like the Glee version better? I’m just being honest.
“Sometime Around Midnight” by The Airborne Toxic Event.
“Til the Morning” by Bahamas.
“Anchor (Ed Tullett Remix)” by Novo Amor.

If you listen to some of this stuff that you might not have heard before, please do let me know what you think. I love bonding with people over music.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

